GARLIC MASHED NOTATOES

1 May

My favorite food is probably garlic mashed potatoes! I LOVE them, but they are loaded with calories & starches that bloat you. I am always looking for innovative ideas to swap out certain ingredients for healthier ones. This recipe has me blown away!  I created it after discovering that cauliflower is a great substitute for potatoes & other starchier foods. Plus, this is easier than actually making homemade garlic mashed potatoes. I have yet to perfect it, but here is my current recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cauliflower head
  • 4 garlic cloves (minced), fresh or jarred
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil spread (if there is a healthier substitute than this please let me know)
  • Water (as needed to help with consistency, I like mine a little thicker so less water for me but a little to help it blend)
  1. Steam cauliflower, either in steamer, on stove or in microwave so that it is just soft enough to cut with a fork, but not too soft
  2. Put freshly steamed cauliflower in food processor or blender & add garlic & olive oil spread (& water if needed to blend) & mash together
  3. Pulse in processor or blender & serve warm (try not to over blend or they will be too mashy & less potatoey)
MOM TIP: While making this I made it far too mushy once & it was GREAT baby food!
One Response to “GARLIC MASHED NOTATOES”

  1. Carol August 9, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    You could always use coconut oil instead of olive oil spread

Leave a Reply

