Cut An Onion, Don’t Cry About It

16 Mar

This is something I’ve always had trouble with.  I used to never be able to cut an onion without sobbing, to the point where I’d just skip onions.

Two tips to conquer those onion tears:

1. Keep your onions in the fridge, breathe through your mouth & immediately wash your hands after. That might seem obvious, but it REALLY works.  I peel them & store mine in a container designed to keep veggies fresh, but any will work.  If you forgot to store your onions in your fridge or just bought them but need them now, pop them in the freezer for a few minutes, but no longer than 1 hour.  My husband also swears by peeling them & rinsing them off in cold water (he used to cut huge jars full at a place he worked).

 2. Use green onions (a.k.a. scallions); these are the long onions found in the chilled section of your grocery store & have a milder onion taste. They don’t bring me near as many tears & if you follow step 1 you definitely will conquer those onion tears.  I use green onions in place of white, yellow & red onions all the time!

Another thing I’ve yet to try is to use some sort of food chopping device to chop onions, but that seems like it would work also.

Good luck with your future onion chopping endeavors, I hope these tips bring you less tears.

Did this post help you?  Do you have another trick?  I love feedback!

Leave a Reply

